Charles Howden

October 2, 2006

Filling in their paperwork is not my idea of a good start.

Filed under: Uncategorized — Charles @ 7:46 pm

Is it just me? I don’t know about you but I absolutely resent having to fill in basic information for any organisation that can’t be bothered to do it for me once I have already given it to them.

Every time I buy anything from one of the professional Institutes to which I am a member, I am asked to print off an application form, which I am then asked to complete by hand and fax back. This is despite the fact that I have a shiny (golden) membership card, with a membership number, which is presumably supported by all my relevant personal information already on file. Never mind the fact that fax machines are becoming just about as easy to find as phone boxes.

On the last occasion I needed to order something, I politely asked whether if I verbally gave them my name and membership number, they would have enough information to complete my transaction. After a pause, the answer was a reluctant yes. Well of course it was, so why was this not suggested in the first place? Draw your own conclusions.

I will admit to being sensitive in this area. One of my frustrations with the part of the insurance world that I used to occupy was the constant requirement for handwritten duplication of information we already held. Asking a customer to fill in his name and address on six separate proposal forms just because his son was joining the business resulting in a change of business title, required more neck than I gladly have, so I used to complete the forms for them.

Where there is a will there’s a way and one way that I chose to judge a company is how easy they are making it for me to do business with them. Filling in their paperwork is not my idea of a good start. Good. I got that off my chest.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

